What Prevents Suicide – One Story

This absolutely hits the nail on the head. So glad my lovely friend has this support but it needs to be available for everyone.

oncetherewasawildhorse

I was suicidal this week. As suicidal as I have ever been, preparing what I needed to kill myself.

I did what I was supposed to do – I reached out, I called for help. There are two possible responses the person on the other end of the phone can give. Either it is the standard advice of distract, distract, distract – have a cup of tea, take a bath, go for a walk, watch tv. This often feels inadequate and invalidating and only increases desperation. Or they send an ambulance.

They sent an ambulance for me, and I ended up in A&E. But I left before I could see the psychiatric team. I didn’t want to talk to strangers, repeating my story, hearing them either offer platitudes or threaten me with an admission to hospital. Because hospital may be a relatively effective way of preventing suicide, but it is…

View original post 515 more words

Leave a Reply

