A Broken Mental Health System Breaking Patients and Staff Alike

​This article is such a devastating read. 

‘As I exit the hospital gates, the nurse mask slips from my face. Tears stream down my cheeks and for the first time in my 10 years of nursing I think: “I don’t think I can do this any more”.’

I always worry about the strains on the amazing mental health nurses involved in my care – especially my wonderful care coordinator who truly goes above and beyond, fighting for me no matter what. It distresses me that she constantly feels like she needs to apologise, even though she is doing much more than she should, stretching her time and the resources available to their limit – this ridiculous bare bones mental health system not only affects the patients, but those staff who truly care, as well. 

‘The all too familiar ‘letting people down’ feeling churns in my stomach and weighs on my shoulders.’

I want to take this opportunity to thank all of you who work within the mental health sector – as a service user I am aware of the horrific strains you are under and the way that your work must affect you, especially when you find yourself fighting against limited resources and managing case loads that are far too large. By continuing to care about and fight for your patients, you are superheroes. Thank you! 

I hate to think what will happen when the system has broken us all. 

Leave a Reply

