My pain is not your pain so why compare?

An excellent piece.

schizoaffected3

Two years ago I discovered the mental health community on Twitter.I had been brutally and illegally sectioned under the Mental Health Act and was desperate to make sense of my experience. Almost immediately I connected with other service users who offered support, were open and honest about their own experiences and I no longer felt alone. Many of those first connections have become online “friends”.

However the more connections I have made on Twitter the more I have noticed a sinister and disturbing hierarchy which has finally caused me to speak out. I do not want to be part of a community which “compares and values suffering” and derides people who generously share experiences for not suffering enough. We live in a society full of social comparison, most of us are aware of our relation to others in terms of looks, education, money and social status and we know how…

View original post 491 more words

Leave a Reply

